• Jahana Hayes Is One Of Three Democrats Who Voted To Censure Jamaal Bowman

    December 7, 2023

    Please Follow us on GabMindsTelegramRumble, Gettr, Truth SocialTwitter

    U.S. Reps. Jahana Hayes (C-CT), Chris Pappas (D-NH) and Marie Gluesenkamp Perez (D-WA) joined along with Republicans today in voting to censure Rep. Jamaal Bowman (D-NY), who was charged with a misdemeanor for falsely pulling a fire alarm in the Cannon House Office Building to interrupt voting on averting a government shutdown. Bowman pled guilty, and is required to pay a $1,000 fine and write an apology to the Capitol Police as part of his agreement with prosecutors.

    Five representatives voted present, including Reps. Andy Harris (R-MD), Chrissy Houlahan (D-PA), Glenn Ivey (D-MD), Deborah Ross (D-NC), and Susan Wild (D-PA). 

    The final vote on the censure resolution was 214-191-5.

    Hayes said in a statement, "While I disagree with the decision of the Republican majority to put the resolution on the House Floor, and the watering down of the censure process, I believe what Representative Bowman did was wrong and as Members of Congress we should be held to a higher standard."

    She relayed a story to Bowman about two firefighters who died and another who was seriously injured when their fire truck slammed into a tree while racing to respond to what turned out to be a false alarm in her hometown of Waterbury, CT. The Rivera-Hughes Memorial Foundation was subsequently established to memorialize the firefighters who died. The Foundation works to empower youth through after school programs, summer camps, internships and more.

    Bowman has apparently expressed interest in supporting the program.

    The four other Representatives from Connecticut, all democrats, voted on party lines against censure, including John Larson, Joe Courtney, Rosa DeLauro, and Jim Himes.

    ‘NO AD’ subscription for CDM!  Sign up here and support real investigative journalism and help save the republic!


    Continue Reading

    Notify of

    Inline Feedbacks
    View all comments
  • Copyright © 2024 The Connecticut Centinal